Thanks for all your encouraging comments on my last post. The general consensus was go for it! I have compromised by ordering the Sewaholic Pendrell Blouse pattern. It uses princess seams, so I thought it would give me some practice with them before I attempt the Cambie Dress. Also, there’s a sewalong, so there’s plenty of help if I get stuck.

I’m halfway through my new sewing course. Time flies! I tried on the ‘Peony’ muslin and the tutor thought my alterations were OK. She wanted to see it made up in the actual fabric I’m using before deciding on whether it needs more alterations. Seriously is it me, or does ‘Peony’ have the trickiest bodice ever?

I layed out my pattern pieces and cut them out in my chosen fabric. I was really worried about messing up my lovely fabric so I got the tutor to double check my layout before I wielded my shears. I’m using a Japanese cotton from Fabric Inspirations. It’s in my favourite colour of the moment (navy) and has the cutest bunny print.

During the rest of the class, I staystitched the bodice necklines and sewed the darts. The fabric is more expensive (£9 a metre) than the cheap denim and lightweight cotton I’ve used previously. I can really tell the difference, it feels nicer to handle and to sew. I have a feeling I might be developing a taste for more expensive fabric…

The tutor told us that there is an option to extend the course by another six weeks. I’m not going to sign up. I anticipate having a lot going on this summer, plus I’d like a break from classes and some time to practice what I’ve learned so far.

Image credit: Fabric Inspirations

