On Saturday, I caught up with Karen’s posts for the Apronalong. I decided to use some fabric from my stash and I chose some lightweight cotton with a Cath Kidston-esque floral print. I’m using blue for the main apron fabric and cream for the contrast fabric. It was £3.49 a metre from Fabricland. I bought 3m of blue and 2m of cream ages ago. I had no idea what I was going to make with it, but I thought it was pretty.


I had prewashed and pressed the fabric already. I cut out the tissue pattern pieces for view C. I trace patterns normally, but the pieces for the apron are one size with the exception of two waistband pieces. These are easily adjusted to the right size by folding the tissue. Next, I lightly pressed my pattern pieces and then cut out my fabric. The next blog post in the apronalong is on how to do tailor’s tacks, but as I know how to do them already I went ahead and thread marked my pattern pieces. I’m feeling virtuous about having caught up!

Recently I’ve been busy / tired / ill and I haven’t had much time to sew. In fact I went two weeks without sewing a stitch and I missed it a lot. Instead of waiting until I have a few hours clear for sewing, I’m trying to sew in small chunks of time, half an hour here and there, making time for sewing (or other crafting) every day. It’s better than not sewing at all. It’s strange that when we’re under pressure, the things we enjoy and which help to relax us are often the first things to go because they aren’t “essential” (well, this is true for me anyway). Actually, they are the most essential activities of all because they make us happy and help us cope with the stresses of every day life. Sarai wrote an interesting post on this topic on the Colette blog recently.

