I’ve bought quite a few sewing patterns recently. Let’s take a look at my haul of shame…

First, the Sewaholic ‘Alma’ blouse. I’ve mentioned my love of Sewaholic patterns before and I snapped up this cute blouse pattern as soon as it was available in the UK. I’m dreaming of view B in polka dot lawn with a plain collar. However, I’m going to have to conquer my fear of inserting an invisible side zip before I can make this blouse.

When I saw the ‘Kelly’ skirt by Megan Nielsen, I loved the design but I felt fairly sure it wouldn’t suit me. It’s far too short, for a start. I’m an old bird and I don’t have great legs, so modest hem lines are essential. However, this version¬†changed my mind. The skirt has been lengthened by about 3 inches, and still looks great.

I think this autumn is going to be all about dresses for me. I’ve been searching for the perfect shirt dress pattern. When I saw Scruffy Badger’s version, I knew I had to try the Lisette Traveler dress. There are so many things to love about this dress pattern – puffed sleeves, gathered skirt and neat collar.

I bought Butterick 5603 after being inspired by another sewing blogger, Dolly Clackett. Take a look at her fabulous version here. In fact, all her makes inspire severe dress envy in me. After reading the pattern envelope, I might have to wait to get stuck into this one, as it requires a lined bodice and I have no idea how to do that. Methinks I need more dressmaking experience first.

Finally, I’ve saved the best until last. I won a vintage sewing pattern for a shirtwaist dress on Ebay – Simplicity 4260. Vintage Patterns Wiki dates it at 1953. It’s a one size pattern, but handily it’s in my bust size so I hope it won’t need too much adjustment. The pattern pieces all seem to be there and intact, apart from a couple of small tears.¬†I’m excited about the prospect of making my first garment from a vintage pattern! How glamorous are the ladies on the pattern envelope with their red lippie and heels?! I don’t trust that one on the right though, she looks a bit sly.

I’ve got so much sewing planned for the autumn and winter, I don’t know how I’m going to fit it all in. I need to write a list…

