Bonjour! As you saw from my last post, I’ve been to Paris. OH and I booked a last minute trip a few weeks ago. We stayed in a budget hotel in the 7th arrondissment, near the Ecole Militaire and 5 minutes walk from the Eiffel Tower. I’ve been to Paris once before and I loved it, so I was excited to go back. To me, it is the most magical of cities.

On our first day, we took the Metro to Montmartre so I could seek out the fabric shops located near the Sacre Coeur.

After a splendid breakfast in a cafe, we went to Les Coupons de Saint-Pierre. The fabric outside the shop is €5 for 3 metres, which is pretty bargainous.

However, I didn’t find anything I liked outside, so I went for a rummage inside the shop. It’s divided into sections for different types of fabric (cotton, wool, silk, etc) and the fabric is piled high on tables. It felt a bit like a jumble sale, to be honest. I bought 3 metres each of the following: blue and white gingham; white broderie anglaise; blue and white polka dot cotton and lightweight grey floral cotton. There were no prices on the fabrics I chose, so I assumed they were all €5 each. Unfortunately, this wasn’t the case and the fabric cost €50 instead of the €20 I was expecting to pay. Derp. Still, I don’t think (just over) €4 a metre is too bad for nice fabric?

After that we went to Tissus Reine, which I liked a lot. It was more expensive, but they had a good range including lots of Liberty Tana Lawn (swoon). The fabric isn’t pre-cut, so you have to attract the attention of an employee (they roam around the shop with metre sticks) to cut your desired length and give you a receipt to take to the till. I bought some Michael Miller Eiffel Tower fabric in black and white. I know it’s cliched to buy an Eiffel Tower print in Paris, but I’ve been looking for this fabric for this colourway for ages. Plus, as it was the end of the roll I got some fabric free, yay!

With my fabric buying impulses sated, OH and I walked up to the Sacre Coeur. It was hard work getting up all the steps, not only because I am terribly unfit, but also because it was scorching hot. It was a relief to go into the cool, quiet interior of the church for a while. We wandered around Montmartre afterwards eating icecream and looking for some shade.

On Wednesday, we went to Disneyland Paris. OH and I are big kids, so we had great fun going on Star Tours (twice), Pirates of the Caribbean, Phantom Manor and other rides. I’m a wimp when it comes to scarier rides, so I didn’t dare go on Space Mountain or Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom.

I was hoping for plenty of hugs from Disney creatures, but the only one we saw wandering about was Timon from ‘The Lion King’. OH took an ace photo of Timon and I sharing a moment (but I’m not going to post it here!). We wandered out into the main section just in time for the 7pm parade.

I’ll be back another day with the second half of my Paris adventures…

