Much as I love making things, sometimes I buy things too. I’m trying to cut down on the amount I buy (although I suspect my consumerist impulses are being redirected towards fabric purchases instead) but I’ve acquired a few nice things recently and I thought I’d share them with you.

In an ideal world, my wardrobe would be full of handmade dresses. In reality, I need more sewing experience before that can happen. In the meantime, I’m going to buy the odd dress here and there to take the pressure off everything being ‘me-made’. I love this dress, particularly the full, swishy skirt. It’s telling that the first thing I did when it arrived was turn it inside out and have a look at the finishing (which isn’t too bad)! I would never have done that before I started sewing.

Normally I wear a lot of dark colours (navy, grey and black) but a friend commented on how much red suits me. So, I’m trying to introduce more red into my wardrobe, starting gently with accessories. I’m a bit of a geek and I do love a nice satchel. This one is a glorious shade of pillar box red and it’s the perfect size for carrying all my bits without being too bulky. I like the fact it has been handmade in Britain by craftsmen – hopefully it will last a long time.

My final purchase is less substantial – Poppy King for No 7 lipstick in ‘History’. I’ve been secretly wanting to wear red lippie for ages. I love the way it looks on other people, but I’m not brave enough to wear it myself. Then I came across this review by Retro Chick which mentioned this was a good way to try out red lipstick as it’s quite sheer and the colour is buildable. I’ve worn it every day for a week and no-one has laughed or pointed yet!

So there we go, a few treats I’ve indulged in! I’m actually decluttering more than I’m acquiring at the moment. I’ve been doing some Ebay selling and I’ve got a specific purchase in mind for the proceeds. Watch this space…

Image credits: Lady V, The Leather Satchel Company and Boots.

