I’m very excited today – I’ve ordered my overlocker! I have some days off work next week and hopefully the overlocker will arrive on Monday. I just need to learn how to use it now… I hope it will help me produce garments with neater seam finishes, plus I’d like to try sewing with jersey at some point.

However, I do wonder why I am learning to sew sometimes – it’s just so darned difficult. I’ve run into problems with the Crescent skirt. I attached the waistband, following the sewalong instructions. The next step was to insert the zip using a method I haven’t tried before – you attach the zip to the facing and then sew the facing + zip to the waistband and skirt.

I got a bit stuck as the sewalong seems to skip a step. In the post on attaching the waistband, the skirt is not seamed up at the back. The next time we see the skirt, the back seam has been sewn together. I had to go back, read all the posts and check I hadn’t missed a step. Have I?

I’m not criticising Tasia at all – the sewalong is a wonderful resource which she has provided for free and it must be horribly time consuming to put together. However, when you’re a sewing newbie it really does help to have every little step laid out for you because you don’t have the background knowledge to fill in the gaps.

In the end, I sewed up the back using a french seam, as I had done with the side seams. I wasn’t sure what I was meant to do about the seam allowance to which the zip is sewn but I snipped across the fabric where the french seam ended, allowing it to lie flat enough for the zip to be attached. No idea if that was the right thing to do.

I tried to follow the instructions (here and here) for attaching the zip, but I couldn’t get them to work. The back of the skirt was starting to look a bit tatty where I had ripped out the zip a couple of times. At this point, I was thoroughly miserable as I had been doing so well with the skirt which was looking neat inside and out.

I decided to abandon the sewalong zip instructions and to use an invisible zip instead. I’m going to use the instructions for inserting the zip and attaching the facing from the Colette Ginger skirt. I’ve ordered some invisible zips online, so I’m just waiting for them to arrive. Does anyone else find it weird to order something that’s described as ‘invisible’?!

Image credit: Brother.

