Many thanks for your comments about overlockers. I’ve got my eye on the Brother 1034D after recommendations from Ginger Makes and Handmade Jane. It gets rave reviews on sewing.patternreview.com too. It’s my birthday in June, so I’m thinking of getting this as a present to myself :-)

I didn’t go to my sewing class last night. I haven’t been well since last week and the class makes Tuesdays a long day. I was at the hospital early this morning for blood tests to check whether my medication has made me anaemic again. I’m tired and breathless all the time, which makes motivating myself to sew (or do anything else) quite difficult. However, I have been trying to do some sewing in small bursts because it takes my mind off things.

I have put aside the ‘Peony’ dress for the moment. I’m not in the right frame of mind to contend with fitting issues. To be honest, I’ve lost some sewing confidence whilst struggling with ‘Peony’ so I thought it would be a good idea to try something different for a while.

I’m a fan of Sewaholic’s patterns, so I decided to try the Crescent skirt. It’s a gathered skirt with a fitted yoke, designed for pear-shaped women. It has pockets, which is always a good thing, as far as I’m concerned. Tasia at Sewaholic has written a skirt sewalong, with lots of photos and clear instructions, which is great for a newbie like me.

So far I’ve traced the pattern and made a muslin, following the sewalong posts. I’m making view C, the longer skirt. Thanks to the gathering on the skirt panels, I didn’t need to do any adjustments at the hips as the fit is generous. I took the side seams on the waistband in by 1/4″ on each side and I added 2″ to the length as it was still too short for my liking. I’m not sure about the gathers at the back – they may have the effect of making my already enormous backside look even bigger. However, white cotton sheeting is not the most flattering of fabrics, so we’ll see how the skirt looks made up in proper fabric.

In other news, I am very sad about The Bridge coming to an end. I’ve been addicted to this Swedish/Danish crime drama for the last five weeks. It was one of the best crime dramas I’ve ever seen. I’ll leave you with the haunting theme from ‘The Bridge’, performed by the Choir of Young Believers.

 

Image credit: Sewaholic

