Have you seen the beautiful new pattern, the Cambie dress, from Tasia at Sewaholic? I’ve yet to make any of her patterns, but I’ve got several bookmarked including the Crescent skirt and the Pendrell blouse. Tasia’s designs are meant to be flattering for pear-shaped ladies, which is music to my ears.

The ‘Cambie dress’ has two variations – one with a full, gathered skirt and one with an a-line skirt. You can see gorgeous examples of both versions by Scruffy Badger Time here. I would probably make the a-line version as full skirts don’t tend to flatter my already voluminous hips. Even better, both versions have pockets! I love dresses and skirts with pockets. Here’s Tasia looking very chic in the a-line skirt version:

I’d love to have a dress that looks this elegant and flattering in my wardrobe (or several versions of this dress) but the pattern is marked as ‘intermediate’. I’m aware that I’m very much a beginner at the moment, as I have been sewing for only a few months.

However,  I’ve been wondering – what makes you an ‘intermediate’ sewer (sewist)? Is it the length of time you’ve been sewing (like serving an unofficial sewing apprenticeship)? Or is the skills you have? In which case, what are the skills I need to learn? Answers on a postcard please! :-)

Image credit: Sewaholic.

