This weekend was very cold, but we didn’t have any snow. One part of me is pleased, because it makes driving and getting about generally much easier. However, another part of me is childishly disappointed that I don’t get to frolic in the snow like other people.

I went for a walk along the beach yesterday. I prefer the seaside out of season and I’m definitely a winter, not a summer, person. In summer, I get hot and uncomfortable. In winter, I can sit by the fire, drink hot chocolate and achieve maximum cosiness.

As you can see, the sea was calm.

The sky turned dark and looked as if it was heavy with snow, but alas not a flake fell.

I got bored waiting for a drink in a seafront cafe and so wrote rude words with magnetic letters on the wall (*tee hee hee*).

I have a confession about my photos. I have a new point and shoot camera. I’ve had my Canon Ixus for a few years now and I’ve started to notice the images weren’t looking great (perhaps I’ve been spoiled since getting my DSLR). I like to carry a camera with me all the time, but my DSLR is too bulky and heavy to carry easily. So I did some research and I found the Canon Powershot SX210 IS (NB you can get £30 cashback from Canon if you purchase this camera before 13 January 2011).

I liked the Powershot because it is small and light, but it also has 14x optical zoom. It is a point and shoot, but it also has similar functionality to my DLSR (aperture priority, shutter priority, program and manual modes). Obviously the images won’t be of the same quality as a DSLR, but it’s portable and it allows me to practice skills I can transfer to my DLSR.

It’s a Christmas present from my OH and my parents, but I was allowed to have to have it early.

