I’d like to introduce you to Melville.

Melville is made from a pattern by Rebecca Danger called Quincy Quade Quentin: A Very Memorable Monster. I used Kaffe Fassett for Regia sock yarn in ‘Fog’ which I had been knitting into socks. I got bored with them and they sat half-finished for ages. Then I saw mooncalf’s Dr Quincy Mentok and I knew at once what the yarn had to become. He was a very simple knit – one tube for his body, two tubes for legs and two tubes for arms. Then stick on a face, stitch on a tummy button and stuff him.

Melville is a library monster and he is named after Melville Dewey (creator of the Dewey Decimal System). He enjoys organising things – he’s already started sorting out my craft books, as you can see. He’s the twin brother of Dr Quincy Mentok and, like his sibling, Melville is a serious monster. However, occasionally he takes a break from organising and he enjoys relaxing with a cup of tea.


I took Melville to work on Friday (my colleagues had seen me making him and they’d asked to see the finished product). It was a difficult day in the office and Melville got lots of hugs from stressed librarians. He’s going to live at my flat, but my colleagues have requested that I make an office monster because they were so fond of Melville.

